Winter

Though it was in the 70’s well into Dec, I now  know that winter is officially here the for the following reasons:

  • I have to cover my veggies at night,
  • I have to put on a coat to drop my daughter at school,
  • I have to scrape my car window off to see through it in the AM,
  • I couldn’t take out the recycling in flip-flops,
  • I realized my seat heater probably doesn’t work anymore in my old wagon, and
  • there are Christmas lights everywhere.

I kind of feel vindicated. Like at the end of the Grinch who Stole Christmas when the holiday happens despite the Grinchy theft of gifts etc. … The climate change and spring like weather couldn’t keep winter from coming!

While I’ve never been a fan go the gloomy dark days of winter, this year it feels like a relief. I was becoming disconcerted trimming my tree in shorts. (That was an experience I was saving for my twilight years in the Keys.) But fear not! Here she is! Winter. In all her glory. Colder than I remember and darker than I’d like.

Thanks mother nature!

Claire

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in health, holidays, Sustainable/Eco and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

