Birthday #3 quickly approaches…

My little one will be 3 soon and I’m thrilled! Seeing her grow is such a joy. However, I was NOT feeling joyful about throwing a birthday party. I have been to a kid’s party about once a weekend since August when my daughter started school. While it’s nice to get out of the house, I’m not a huge fan of parties, small talk, or opening presents in public. SO….that being said, I was feeling a little intimidated about hosting EVERY SINGLE KID AND PARENT from my daughter’s class. Oi. My list of fears were as follows:

1) What would I do with 20+ kids at my house? It’s too cold to be outside. I don’t have a big open layout inside. Where would I put them all?! Is there time to renovate the whole house in three weeks to accommodate two dozen toddlers?

2) Is this going to cost a lot? I’m frugal and especially as we get closer to the holidays I need to be careful with my spending money….A rented bouncy house is $300, Installing a playground in our back yard is $700, Renting space heaters for the yard is $400, ….My pain and anguish….priceless?

3) Did I mention I didn’t know what to do with all those toddlers?

That being said, I broke down and rented a party space. There’s a climbing structure, an art area, and toys galore. They set up. They clean up. They provide the plates, cups, and balloons. All I have to do is bring drinks, cupcakes and decorations if I want more than balloons. Oh, and my kid too 🙂 $225. Done. I orderedit on the web, wrote an evite, and in 15 min my panic about hosting was gone and I could focus on fun stuff – decor.

Here’s my party supplies for our pinwheel themed party. Banner, cupcake toppers, and goody bags. *Sigh* I love crafting so much more than hosting.

Here’s the instructions I started with from the Oh Happy Day blog.

pinwheel bannerpinwheel party bagspinwheel cake toppers

Peace,

Claire

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

