Happy Halloween

I had to teach last night and I would just like to thank my students for being so SO great and all almost all showing up. It meant a lot to me because I’d have rather been at home with my little one, but the students were great and made it feel worth while.

I had the pleasure of carving a pumpkin with my little one for the first time this year. I learned the following:

1) Apparently I’d not carved a pumpkin in 8 years! Wow.

2) Carving a pumpkin is like riding a bike. It comes back to you.

3) Toddlers are fascinated with the goop inside the pumpkin, but really nothing else about carving a pumpkin. She spent most of her time drawing next to us while we carved.

4) Carving a pumpkin is hard! I had this great plan on paper and my pumpkin itself, while charming, is far from professional.

5) My little one loves toasted pumpkin seeds. Sweet! Another healthy snack for the list.

I found dressing up (a brown cat) to be a much bigger hit. As was passing out candy, trick-or-treating, and eating candy. She’s already planning her costume for next year…Batman. She’s a surprise a minute.

Happy Halloween!

Claire

 

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

