OK…

It’s been crazy around here since school started. Not only has my little one been transitioning to a new school, but I’ve been transitioning to teaching 3 classes at the university this year. Fun, but challenging. šŸ™‚ Teaching is a very fulfilling activity, but it makes me stretch my brain creatively each time I embark on a new semester.

I did somehow manage to get my fall garden in…

fall garden

Carrots, bok choy, broccoli, Brussels Sprouts, cabbage, Mustard Greens, Arugula, Kale and more!

I was feeling very good about my lazy hands-off organic approach to gardening until I got an infestation of caterpillars two days ago. How they snuck up on me I’ll never know, but one morning my kale was stripped to the bone.

Well, this gardener has officially gone from ‘lazy’ to ‘organic.’ I’ve spent the last two mornings picking off caterpillars. Yes. You heard me. I’ve gone from hands-off to IT’S ON! in 48 hours. Boom. Then I sprayed some neem oil, added a little plant tone and came back to pick some more. And in gratitude for my new found commitment:

New growth

bok choi!

 

Peace and picking off bugs,

Claire

 

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to OK…

  1. Erin says:

    Three classes?! I didn’t realize you were teaching so many this semester! I bought seedlings back in early September and several of the Romaine plants bolted in the warm weather we had earlier in the month. šŸ˜¦ Broccoli’s doing well, as is the rainbow chard, and there are lots of lettuce volunteers. Yay for your kale coming back!

Leave a Reply

