Yes I Can!

Or eventually I will any way…

OK, whenever I don’t know how to do something (and I’m a bit intimidated by it), the first thing I do is read about it. Read. Read. Read. This does several things to benefit my process.

  1. I get to be a student (by far my favorite job),
  2. I get to procrastinate starting said new task I’m skeerd of, and
  3. I usually get to buy a new book or two. 🙂

Here’s where I am in the process of learning to can.

1.  I’ve bought my canning supplies:

Kit, pot, spices, vinegar, salt, and jars…

2.  I’ve bought and read two inspiring and informative canning books:

Tart and Sweet: 101 Canning and Pickling Recipes for the Modern KitchenCanning for a New Generation: Bold, Fresh Flavors for the Modern Pantry

3.  And….I’ve picked a bunch of food from my garden that needs to be processed (See here).

So, what am I waiting for? Time? Nerve? A sitter to watch my little one while I boil things on the stove? All of the above and none of the above. I think the root of the issue is I’m still a bit intimidated. I hear Botulism is kind of a big deal, so I’m hesitant to get started. How will I solve that problem, you ask?

I’m looking for a canning class to take.

Yes, next to Amazon orders and reading more and more books, taking a class is the procrastinators next best friend. 🙂 I’m on the hunt and I’ll be sure to share what I learn.

Peace,

Claire

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in food, health, homesteading, parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

