Where the wild things are

So apparently when you go out of town for two weeks in the middle of the summer and neglect your garden you come back to this…

My messy yard

There are squash, gourds,  tomatoes, melons, and beans climbing all over the beds, lawn, and trees. You can hardly see the ground. (You’ll notice my dog wandering in this photo like a lost child. ‘What is this disaster?!’ He asks himself.)

Grey Gardens

It’s like the set of Grey Gardens back there. Gives me the chills. I clearly need to spend the weekend clearing out the old and bringing in the new. Today, alas, I have to work, so all I had time for was some harvesting.

This is the upside of the wonder of nature meeting with neglect. Apparently in all that greenery run a muck there was ALOT of food.

tomatillowatermelon

summer squasheggplant

tomatoes, melon, peppersmisc veggies

This resulted in gift baskets of food for three colleagues, two eggplant parmesans (frozen for future use), a fresh pasta sauce for last nights’ dinner, 6 bags of frozen veggies for the winter, and lunches for the week. Phew! I need to learn how to can, STAT, so all this urban homesteading goodness doesn’t go to waste!

Peace and plenty,

Claire

 

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in food, health, homesteading, Sustainable/Eco and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where the wild things are

  1. Pingback: Yes I Can! | On a Claire Day

Leave a Reply

