Finally

July is coming to a close and I finally have tomatoes! I was getting less than a handful a day (and was starting to worry that my six foot tall plants would give nothing but green), but worry no more! My plants are just covered now. I was wrong and never so happy about it.

yell cherry tomatoes

The tomatoes I’m having the best yield from so far are the Blondkopfchen. They are sweet and beautiful, especially when combined with some red tomatoes. I’m loving eating them sliced with cucumbers and onions in a simple salt, pepper, basil, oil and balsamic vinegar salad. Yummy. Takes about two minutes to make and as a result, I’ve made it about every day for a week.

While holding a colander full of fresh picks, I was brainstorming additional recipes to try when I realized that my daughter’s last day of summer play school was tomorrow. In a moment of mama panic I remembered the need for a teacher gift. My abundant tomatoes stepped in as life savers.

I tromped my two year old into the garden at dusk to pick tomatoes for her teachers.

tomato picking

 

We had so much fun getting dirty in the garden! After she had picker (and tasted) her fill to was off to bed and time for me to get crafty. I had about 20 minutes worth of energy left though, so it had to be simple. Thank goodness I had some berry boxes laying around I could fill with tomatoes. I then made a little card featuring the sweet proud photo of my kiddo in action picking and tied it to the berry boxes with yellow string. It just screams summer to me and took about no time at all. My favorite.

 

It of course also reignited a passion for berry boxes too.

*sigh* Oh etsy, you tease.
Peace,
Claire

 

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in food, homesteading, life, parenting, Sustainable/Eco and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

