Garden lessons from this week

1) Just because you don’t get a bug one year doesn’t mean you won’t get it the next.

Next year I will collar my squash with burlap, spray them with insecticidal soap preventatively, and plant two staggered crops to prevent destruction by Squash Borer. This little bugger is the bane for my existence. And it’s gross.

http://entomology.unl.edu/charts/sqvinbor.shtml

2) Stockings need to be very VERY thick to hold a watermelon.

My watermelons quickly outgrew their stocking pouches, got too heavy, and fell to the ground. I’m now buying thicker tights and allowing more room for stretching. I needed more support for my queen sized melons.

watermelon in a stocking

3) Soy beans. Many pods still make a small feast. Emphasis on small.

I picked a colander full of soy beans anticipating eating steamed edamame for dinner. After shelling the whole colander full I had less than a snack sized ziplock of beans. Needless to say the dinner plan was changed. Next year I’m planting a whole fallow square of garden with soy beans.

Soy Beans

4) Planting a wild card can be a good thing.

Just as I was loosing complete faith in my skills as a gardening my Ground Cherry began dropping it’s sweet tasty fruit. Hello pie, here I come. Thank goodness for small favors. 🙂

Ground Cherry

Peace,

Claire

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in food, homesteading, Sustainable/Eco. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Garden lessons from this week

  1. lisaprimm says:

    Best gardening line ever…. I needed more support for my queen sized melons.

Leave a Reply

