Flea Market…

A couple weekends ago I was lucky enough to have childcare on the weekend (thanks to an in-laws visit!) What did this mama do with her free time, you ask? I took a trip to the flea market..alone :).

I have gone to flea markets before and had a blast (i.e. my trip to GA with my dear friend Erin where I scored a vintage soap dispenser and set of pyrex bowls for a song.) However, I’ve been underwhelmed by my local flea market. I’d never found anything I wanted. Things seemed too expensive, like they’d already been marked up from flea market prices. And I felt there was too much to take in and hunt through. Add to that a huge location, blistering heat, and a kid in toe…like I said, underwhelmed.

I was hoping, however, that this time alone would be different. I really REALLY hoped my past experiences had been colored by having a difficult and impatient toddler with me and alone I’d hunt for deals more effectively and have more fun.

I did find some things I loved and didn’t need…

Glass fishing bobbers Duck and headsPurple Glass Bottles

(Don’t worry hubby, I didn’t buy any of these fun extras :).)

However, I didn’t find anything I was looking for at a reasonable price…

  • NO small table for bathroom storage
  • NO wire baskets for storing office craft supplies
  • NO vintage Coke bottle boxes for paint brush storage

AND the only thing I did find for a good price I didn’t pull the trigger on because it was only sort of want I was looking for. Plus, I didn’t want to carry it the huge distance to my car. It looked a bit like this…

Vintage wooden desk

I was really hoping to find this…

vintage teal school desk

*Sigh* I came away feeling a bit discouraged and longing for a small out-of-the-way flea market experience like the one I’d had in the GA mountains. Maybe Erin will humor me when we take our next mountain trip and hunt down a market or two with me ;).

Peace,

Claire

 

 

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in buying local, life, Sustainable/Eco and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flea Market…

  1. Erin says:

    I recall there being several flea markets and/or thrift shops where we’re going! Jacob’s a seasoned pro when it comes to being dragged through shops by mommy, so he’s pretty good about it. Between the two of us, we can keep Abby amused and maybe find something good!

Leave a Reply

