The silver lining…

I’m trying to get as much food out of my yard as possible. The longterm goal is to feed my family all year round, but at this point (hey there squash borer and epic heat wave you P.O.S.s) I’m just trying to get through the season. So, placing my bitterness aside…here are some things that ARE working.

Cucumbers

These guys are LOVING the heat and growing quite well. While I have no particular love for pickles, I have experimented with making them none the less to varying degrees of success. I tried the Bread and Butter pickle mix by Ball and (though it was really easy) it was just OK in flavor. However, the Bread and Butter recipe from the Beekman 1802 Cookbook was a huge hit. I even ate two pickles myself.

Pickles

Vertical Gardening

I’ve set up V shaped trellises for my melons and under them I’m growing things that need more shade: lettuce, swiss chard, radishes, and spinach. To keep the melons from over stressing their vines, I’m bagging them in pantyhose. Though this looks silly, it seems to be working and my melons no longer cover my whole yard like they did last year.

melon trellis

bagged melon

OK, that’s all for now. Hopefully I find even more good things soon :).

Claire

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in food, homesteading, Sustainable/Eco. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The silver lining…

  1. Erin says:

    I have some catching up to do on reading your posts, but I had to chuckle and leave a quick comment when I noticed the date on your jar of pickles. I made a batch of refrigerator pickles the same day! (My first, actually.) I’m planning on bringing them with me when we rendezvous since it’ll be a month exactly from the day I made them…and supposedly they’re ready to eat…and I’m really hoping they turned out well! I want to make my dad some bread & butter pickles…glad you mentioned Beekman…I’ll have to get the recipe from my copy. I prefer dill but he likes b&b and he’s been babysitting Jacob for me lately, so it’s the least I can do. So glad your garden is doing well, with the exception of the squash borers and this disgusting heat. Gardening, much like parenting, is a humbling endeavor!

Leave a Reply

