Happy 4th of July!

Hello out there!

I love a good holiday themed celebration, so this morning, while my little one played and my husband rested up from another long night of work, I made the following fourth inspired feast. There’s still time to whip some of these up for your evening barbecue of you’re so inclined :).

Nutella Croissants

Nutella Croissants 

These were made following this recipe. I found that they worked better if the whole inside was spread with a thin layer of Nutella and then the dollop was added to the inner most area of the roll. Also, I liked them better without the additional cinnamon and sugar and rolled as croissants rather than pressed into triangles. These were a big hit with the little one AND the husband. Why? Chocolate, was the resounding answer.

Nutella Croissants

Summer Veggie Quiche

I started making quiche years ago, so I really wing it now. I included in this one ingredients fresh from our garden: summer squash, onions, garlic, and zucchini. I also used eggs from from a friend’s chickens and a little buttermilk and cheese to give it a creamy edge. I just layered everything in my crustless quiche pan, poured the eggs and milk mixture over it all, sprinkled with seasoning (salt, paper, dill), and baked at 400 degrees for 30 min. then sprinkled shredded cheese on top and cooked for another 5 minutes. It really just needs to cook until the center is no longer liquified. Even my husband, the self-proclaimed ‘egg hater’ said this was very good.

Summer Veggie Quiche

Buttermilk Pie with Fresh Berries

My husband had a version of Buttermilk Pie the other night at a local restaurant we like, Margot’s. I was inspired to try a recipe at home because it was so creamy and warm and perfect with fresh berries. I started with this recipe, but I changed the following: cut the sugar to 3/4 cup, added a few shakes of nutmeg, and added a tiny bit of lemon zest. Once the pie had fully cooled I covered it with a LOT of fruit. Perfect combo. This was my first time making this pie and I can say I am really glad I cut the sugar (it would have been CRAZY sweet with 1.5 cups!) and I liked the nutmeg addition. May do without the lemon next time though. Overall, I’ll make it again I’m sure.

Buttermilk pie with fresh berries

Watermelon stars

So lovely and easy! I just sliced my seedless watermelon into rounds and then used my star shaped cookie cutters to make stars. I then sprinkled some blueberries onto and voila – happy fourth melon!

Happy 4th of July!

– Claire

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in buying local, food, holidays, homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

