So, hows it growing?!

Quite well, thank you!

I just realized that I never posted pictures of my fully finished garden! This year I expanded my garden by 250%! Wow. I’m so glad I did though, because, even with all my new raised bed space and using square foot gardening and vertical gardening techniques, I’m STILL putting things that don’t fit in additional pots.

This seems shocking to me that I have so much growing. It didn’t seem like a lot when I built the beds and planted, but maybe I just lost perspective way back in January during the seedling period and haven’t returned to sanity. When I begin to list all that we’re growing this summer, eyes just glaze over. Including the berry bushes, grape vines, and peach trees planted this year I started the following from seed…

  • Kohlrabi
  • Oh So Sweet Watermelon
  • Purple tomatillo
  • Benning’s Green Tint Squash
  • Tomatoes including Blongkopfchen, Potato Leaf, and a red cherry
  • Black Beauty Zucchini
  • Golden Zucchini
  • Red Malabar Spinach
  • Strawberry Spinach
  • Soybean
  • Sunset runner bean
  • Aurora hot peppers
  • Napoleon Sweet Peppers
  • Edens Gem Melon
  • Amish Melon
  • Birdhouse Gourd (decoration)
  • Dragon Carrots
  • Listada de Gandia Eggplant
  • Long Island Brussels Sprouts
  • Broccoli
  • Lemon Mint
  • Lavender
  • Chioggia Beet
  • Aunt Molly’s Ground Cherry
  • Cherokee Trail bean
  • True Red Cranberry
  • cucumbers
  • Orange Carrots
  • Lettuce mix
  • Arugula

I know, blah blah blah blah blah, right?! 🙂 But this (well, this and my daughter) has been my J.O.B. for the last 6 months, so the same little 8×8 plot didn’t seem to cut it this year. I’ve gone overboard, but with good cause.

Over the next couple of days (OK, let’s say weeks. Kid schedules can be unpredictable and I think there’s a holiday coming up soon, so who knows how soon I’ll manage this…), I plan to share what’s worked for me and what didn’t, lessons learned in my first year of four season grading, and books I love for both info and inspiration.

In the mean time, here are some fairly recent photos of my garden! (I can’t wait to show the most recent photos soon!!! We’re finishing a patio in the elbow of my new L shaped bed, so it’s a bit of a construction site out there today.)

Old/original 8X8 raised bed (you can sort of see the asparagus barrel and grape vines there on the side too)

old 8X8 raised garden bed

New matching 8X8 square bed

New 8X8 raised garden bed

 

New L shaped bed and one of the bean teepees (That little nook in the elbow will be our cute patio soon!)

New L shaped raised bed

Peace and planting peeps,

Claire

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in food, homesteading, Sustainable/Eco. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So, hows it growing?!

  1. Erin says:

    Wowser! I’m muy impressed! Can’t wait to see more photos and glean some tips from you next month. 🙂

Leave a Reply

