What’s for lunch?

Today I was out working in the garden weeding, watering, and staking plants when I had a revelation.

I can eat this stuff.

Stupid I know, but I’ve been caring for seedlings and building garden beds, planning, planting, and growing for months now with nothing to show for it (save for tiny spots of green.) So, the fact that today there are delicious things like arugula, lettuce, radishes, and beans to eat is kind of mind-blowing!

I grew something! It worked! This stay-at-homesteading experiment is working!

This revelation was like giving birth all over again. It was a birth of new life to the world, but also a birth of myself in some new way. Just as motherhood was a new beginning. Again, I’ve created a new ‘me’.

I can be happy at home. I can be a mother and an urban farmers. I can move beyond the pain of a lay-off and find new work to fill me up. And I can be happy, happy with me in the here and now. This joy and revelation may be tiny and temporary, but the fact that I can eat something I grew from seed today feels nothing short of a miracle and Im relishing it.

I can make things grow. I can create life and goodness in the world. I can contribute. And I can do it all with my own two hands.

Peace and growth,

Claire

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in food, health, homesteading, life, parenting, Sustainable/Eco and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s for lunch?

  1. Erin says:

    And I’m proud of you! Reading about your experiences in stay-at-homesteading have been so inspiring. Your eloquence on the subject is really touching and I also find this kind of domestic work to be very gratifying and centering.

Leave a Reply

