WRITE YOUR REPRESENTATIVE!!

Legal Aid is a cause close to my heart. Having worked with communities saved from countless forms of exploitation because they received civil legal representation, I can assure you, Legal Aid (funded federally by LSC) is not something that anyone can live without. 

So, remember how I got laid off about 6 months ago following the first round of federal budget cuts to LSC? Yeah, that had a little something to do with funding. Now, I was just informed that a vote may take place today or tomorrow in the U.S. House of Representatives on an amendment that would GUT funding for the Legal Services Corporation. The effort will cut LSC by $128 million, bringing LSC to $200 million in the House Commerce Appropriations bill. This would devastate legal services, which is already functioning on shoe strings and leave poor citizens in the US without a legal voice. (Not to mention great attorneys and social workers without jobs!)

Please take a moment to contact YOUR U.S. Representative (Who’s your rep? Find out here… http://www.house.gov/representatives/find/) and ask them to vote NO on the amendment to gut LSC funding. I did! 


If you don’t know what to say, my note is below. And in case I’m not a compelling enough voice, here’s a great video from the TN supreme court: http://www.justiceforalltn.com/i-can-help/video

Thanks for being engaged! 
______
Dear Congressman Cooper,
As a social worker, I have seen first hand the benefit legal aid has in the lives of poor and elderly Tennesseans. The civil legal representation legal aid offers protects the poor from abuse by corrupt landlords, the elderly from exploitation, and victims of domestic violence and their family’s from living in fear.
Unfortunately, I’ve been informed that the U.S. House of Representatives may vote today or tomorrow on an amendment that would gut funding for the Legal Services Corporation (LSC). Further funding cuts to LSC funding would be devastating to vulnerable Tennesseans.
Please vote NO on this amendment and support the maintenance of LSC funding for Tennessee’s legal aid programs!
Thank you,
About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in social work and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

