A must read…

Ladies (and gentlemen).

This is an across the board issue.

Women are turing against each other and, in doing so, maintaining a system that harms us all. Whether we’re judging people for ‘putting on a few pounds,’ criticizing a mom who doesn’t breastfeed, complaining that stay-at-home moms don’t do anything or ridiculing a working mom for neglecting her children…we are dragging each other down. It’s wrong.

Life is hard. Let’s lift each other up instead!

Want to hear this said more eloquently by a movie star? I’ve got you covered:

http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2012/04/09/ashley-judd-slaps-media-in-the-face-for-speculation-over-her-puffy-appearance.html

Peace,

Claire

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in life, parenting, social work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A must read…

  1. katybrandes says:

    It’s so refreshing to see women blogging about this ever-important topic. Cheers to you (and Ashley Judd)!

  2. Erin says:

    I’m so glad you shared this! I also read about it on my favorite celebrity gossip blog (I know, I know…but that blog–Lainey Gossip–is sneakily well written, and rather intelligent and savvy…) Anyway, one of the points Judd makes reminds me of a conversation you and I had where we talked about feeling like our worth was wrapped up in our appearances. Even though we’re feminists, took those women’s studies classes, know the influence of media images and marketing, and realize on an intellectual level that we ought not feel this way, that way of thinking is *still* so difficult to avoid and transcend. That first paragraph of the Judd’s essay is deeply powerful and sadly true.

Leave a Reply

