If you can’t beat it…

Join it.

We have been very busy with family visits as of late. We were out of town for almost a week and then had family staying with us for almost a week. It was wonderful to see our daughter connect with grandparents, great grandparents, Aunts and Uncles, but I don’t know where the time has gone!! Now I’ve got to come back to reality and get my life in gear again. That means blogging (among other things).

Why hello everyone out there :)!

Today I’m going to share my ideas for brightening my kitchen and making it more functional without spending on a pricey renovation. Though I’m applying for full time jobs now nothing is final yet, so I’m trying to keep my ideas for home updates in line with a realistic budget. (Here’s hoping!)

The first step is light and bright decor in my kitchen. Cheaper than taking out walls and redoing cabinets. Here are some ideas I have…

Set of 2 Linen Towels - 100 % linen kitchen towels req 36857

New towels (via)

New rug (via)

BEKVÄM Step stool IKEA Solid wood, a hardwearing natural material. Hand-hole in the top step makes the step stool easy to move.

Stool to use as a little seat and table for my little girl. Found here and to be painted yellow like this inspiration piece.

BEKVÄM Kitchen cart IKEA Solid wood; can be sanded and the surface treated as required. Gives you extra storage, utility and work space.

Kitchen cart (via) finished to look like this inspiration piece

Finally, I want art over my cabinets. They are just an open space now and until I can run them to the ceiling, I might as well like what I look at each day…

4 BERRIES SET -Culinary Art- Collection

via

I think for about $500 I could get all this done. Now my real challenge is to see if I can do this look for less. Stay tuned :).

Peace,

Claire

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

