Whiskey Weekend

I completed a WHOLE project with my husband this weekend! It feels like some sort of magical feat, let me tell you! We made a plan. We went to the hardware store. We bought supplies. We put our baby to bed. AND we did the project!!!! Start to finish!!!!!

I’m not sure anyone else has as tough a time as we do getting these types of things done, but in our family, our two year old can pretty much derail anything from cooking a meal, to grocery shopping, to building window seats in the living room (Remember this?), to finishing a yard project. Which is why I am so proud of the space we’re creating under our deck!

Here’s how this project developed. We have a little deck off the back of our house. I love that you can just walk right out on it and get to the grill etc, but I don’t love that it is only really usable for lounging two weeks out of the year here in the sunny SUNNY south. So, I would like to build a screened in porch. However, as you all know, I was laid off a while ago, so plans that cost mucho money are on hold for the forceable future. I was starting to  create in my mind a plan that involved sewing a homemade canopy or building something over my deck with scrap wood when I saw this:

Pinned Image

My heart leapt at this picture. It looked so lovely, serene and SHADY! And then I thought, if you squint, hang lights, clean up the junk, and put a cute table out…this kinda looks like the underside of our deck. WhawaWHAT?! That’s free! I’ve got that already! All I need is to clean! YEAH!!!!

So it began. My husband and I started cleaning under the deck and reorganizing the area so one could sit there and relax in the shade. When the majority of the junk was out of the way I realized that the space wasn’t quite as charming as the above mentioned photo. There’s our exposed and patched foundation, there’s dirt under the steps where nothing but weeds grow, and there’s half a retaining wall. Something had to be done, so for a small amount of money and more elbow grease we:

  • Found matching stones to finish the retaining wall
  • Covered the exposed dirt and weeds with mulch (PS – mulch is so cheap! I had no idea and now that I do I’m going to mulch all my flower beds this spring)
  • Put  big planter (made from an old whiskey barrel, just up our upcycled/found object alley) in the barren space in front of the foundation and filled it with shade loving plants and…

Voila! Tragic to magic!

We still have to hang the twinkle lights and make a run to the dump before I post the full shot final photos, but even having this one part of the project done feels AMAZING!!! I plan on wrapping the rest of this up this week, so when my family visits from CA and NC next week they can relax in our shady patio area :).

barrel planter filled with shade plants

Peace and productive projects to you all!

– Claire

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in decor, homesteading, laid off, life, Sustainable/Eco and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

