The long weekend

So, just a little update from my life this past weekend. In list form.

A) I have fallen off the healthy living wagon. It was a ruff weekend full of carbs, chocolate, wine, and lounging around, so now I must gather my wits about me and begin again. Healthy eating is a lifestyle, not a diet, so I’m tracking my food and movement once again, but not berating myself for indulging a bit. (So there, guilty conscious! You can’t get me!)

B) I’ve got spouts! They are almost too small to photograph with my tragic little phone camera, but I can assure you, my egg crates hold the tiniest, most wonderful little green shoots you ever did see :). According to this article I’m keeping them on a heating pad at night, giving them some sunlight out in the open during the day, and gently brushing my hand over their leaves to give them strength.

C) My little greenhouse arrived! I am over the moon about MORE garden related packages. I received my little greenhouse for prepping my seedlings for life in the great outdoors this weekend and once it’s up, I’ll give you a product review and a glimpse of the next round of seed sowing. (My grin right now is HUGE. Hard to focus on anything, but getting to greenhouse assembly. Alas, I’ve got to write this and get back to work ASAP, so I must hold my joy in check for a few more hours ’till I’m ‘off the clock’.)

D) I began building our window seats in the living room this past weekend. Here’s the pile of wood in my entryway that I cut and drilled holes in. Doesn’t look like a window seat yet, you say? Truth. Give me another year or so and the pile of wood will be neatly assembled in the corners of our living room :). They may or may not be installed as window seats at said time.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

E) I cooked. I baked muffins and cornbread and bread and made chili and fondu….good times. All yummy, but I’ve paid for it. Back to moderation today. However, if you are in the market for some indulging, may I recommend the cornbread from this book In the Kitchen with a Good Appetite. Yummy. Below is a scene from my weekend kitchen. Note: the corner of the book is hiding the big chunk of cornbread eaten hot, straight out of the pan.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hope you all had a lovely long weekend too.

Peace and Play,

Claire

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in decor, food, health, life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

