1 and a 2 and a 1, 2, 3, 4

My daughter has begun setting the time signature before she sings by counting herself (and anyone singing with her) in. Neither my husband nor myself remember teaching her to do this. Maybe she learned it in KinderMusic. Maybe she’s seen her dad do it while working. I’m not sure. Regardless, I love seeing her conduct her musical experiences, so they match her vision and I want to do everything in my power to liberate and encourage her creative impulses.

My parents were always very supportive of my artistic side. They let me try everything the struck my fancy from ballet to horseback riding to pottery. They let me paint huge murals on my bedroom walls, try to refinish furniture, and taught me to sew, knit, and install light fixtures. As we speak, one of the murals I did still graces the wall of my mother’s office, painted around instead of over when she converted the space from my bedroom to a work area of her own. For this encouragement and freedom I will be forever grateful. It makes me feel loved in a way that moves beyond words.

This is the gift I want to give my daughter, the freedom to create and the confidence to trust her creative instincts.

As we age, there are millions of forces at work that suppress and stifle artistic impulses. Cultural expectations of adulthood, fear of failure, the din of modern society, busy day-to-day obligations, commitments, and personal insecurities are just a few barriers to creativity in adulthood. When my daughter gets to my age, and begins to feel these pressures as I do, I want her to have memories of an imaginative life to reconnect to when she feels lost and the strength to hear her own inner voice so she is able to engage fully in her creative life.  I think this will be essential for her as an adult. Because, for all the wonderful years of love and support I had, I still lost my center and my creative hand as I got older. I let the outside world overpower my internal drive towards art, design, and movement and I’ve been hurt by it. I don’t want that for my daughter.

So, in this third week of my ‘journey to a better me’ I am continuing to 1) eat whole, natural, and healing foods, 2) moving more, and now I adding my third life change. Starting today I will pursue a creative impulse for at least an hour a day. I’m going to make time to engage in this part of myself and hopefully become a better and happier me in the process.

Here’s to creativity!

– Claire

P.S. Here are some inspiring TEDTalks about creativity.

 

J.K. Rowling Speaks at Harvard Commencement from Harvard Magazine on Vimeo.

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in crafting, health, life, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

