Interconnected

Since my first sip of coffee today I have felt in sink with my world. Often I feel like I’m a hamster on a never ending churning wheel with no beginning, no meaning, and no end. But today I have felt connected to the sun that warmed my city, I have felt loved by the breeze, I have felt filled with creative joy and love for my family, and I have felt nourished by the wisdom of brilliant people.

While I worked today, I listed to TED Talks. I’m not sure if you’ve been on this site, but if you haven’t you should. It is filled with thought provoking mini lectures from artists, theorists, scientists, spiritual leaders…anyone you might hope to sit next to at a small dinner party. And they’re all free online. What a gift!

The talks I listened to today invigorated my commitment to my own spiritual, creative, and professional journey in a way I’ve not been privy to in a while. And it feels so damn good! Even the sad parts and the hard truths filled me up, because they were joined with a faith that I can influence change. These talks made me feel my interconnectedness as less of a burden of shared suffering and more of an opportunity to contribute to an overall progress in my world. This was just the ‘kick in the pants,’ ‘shot in the arm,’ ‘go get ’em tiger!’ encouragement I needed today, just to be me in this world.

I think the joy today brought me rubbed off on everyone around me too.  My daughter skipped home from school today and I just laughed and relished being with her. By the time we got to our front porch, my face hurt from smiling and I thought, ‘this might be the most beautiful moment I’ve ever had.’ I feel so blessed to have this life. With all it’s little struggles and triumphs it feels like such a gift. And though I know I am just a drop in the ocean of significance, this is my drop and my joy. I am so SO thankful for it and I hope it sends ripples of positivity into the world for others to enjoy too.

Peace,

Claire

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in life, social work and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Interconnected

  1. Erin says:

    What powerful messages! Thank you for sharing these. Can you re-send me the TED talk you emailed last week? The link didn’t work for some reason.

Leave a Reply

