Fake it ’till you make it

OK, so I LOVE this bedroom from SchoolHouse Electric & Supply Company…

(via)

Love. Truly.

(PS: Note to SchoolHouse Electric & Supply- I LOVE your things and know that you pride yourself on your craftsmanship. Trust me, if I could afford it, I’d support artists and companies like yours, so this is not intended as a mark against your company. On the contrary, you’re amazing and I want to share your great style with vintage and repurposed items. OK, back to the post…)

However, I am not rolling in the dough. (For example, I’m a laid off stay-at-home mom/homesteader, so…yeah. Not making the moolah.) And this bedding alone would set me back about $1,185 (not counting tax and shipping). As I said, slightly TOTALLY out of my range.

But, no biggie! This year is my year to recycle, reuse, repurpose, and hand make. So, I’ve set out to make this room with things I already have, that I could make, or that I could find for super cheep.

First, let’s look at what I found cheeper on the web. (I say cheeper, because ‘new’ is almost never as cheep as ‘used.’ AND the best spots to find something for cheep – and environmentally responsibly – would be to trade with a friend, make it, or get it from a thrift store or garage sale. Of course you can buy used on the web too, as you’ll see below, from Etsy or on CraigsList.)

  • Floral Sham

(From Etsy, click photo for link)

Set Of 2 Vintage Pillow Cases Standard Size or Project/sewing material retro NEW YEAR SALE - Vintage Pillow Cases - Pink Ticking Green Garland - Soft Cotton - PairVintage French Fabric Red and White Leaves Suitable for Patchwork Quilting, Lavender Bags FeedsackVintage Cotton Feed Sack   Pink Rose Turquoise & Lime   on White

  • Stripped Sheets

(From Lands End and Target)

Target Home™ Sheet Set.Opens in a new window

  • White quilt

(From Pottery Barn and Etsy)

Antique Quilt / French Boutis 25% OFF All White Remarkable Over-All Stitching

  • Rustic wool blanket

(from Etsy, click photo to got to listing)

V I N T A G E cream wool camp blanket with pink stripesV I N T A G E Creamsicle wool camp blanket

  • Accent throw

(From LL Bean and Etsy, and patterns from Pinterest, Click photos for links)

Crochet Chevron BlanketPinned Image

So combining things from stores listed above, I got the bedding price total down to around $450 (not counting shipping and tax), which is already less than half of buying from the original store.

Now, let’s see how low I can go….Here’s what I did with stuff that was already in my house.

So, here’s what similar:

  • Floral sham
  • Bold colored blanket under white quilt
  • Small comfy throw

And, here’s what’s different (not to point out the obvious):

  • No striped sheets, so I used vintage brown check sheets with lace trim
  • No bright red wool camp blanket, so I used a brown chenille blanket to compliment the pillow cases
  •  No woven throw, so I used a down throw

It’s not perfect and it’s not identical, but it’s in the ‘flavor’ of the photo and it’s a place to start. After going through what I have in my house I now know what I’d like to add to finalize this look in my guest bedroom. Now I can start slowly hunting for bargains and patterns for things to create. On the list so far…

  • Knit a chevron throw
  • Buy striped sheets
  • Buy vintage wool camp blanket in a bright color

(We can also add to this list, get a better camera. I’m not sure about ya’ll, but if you’re anything like me, you’re probably getting pretty sick of my tragic photos from my phone :).)

This was a fun (though time consuming activity) that I recommend you all try before you buy. Ooh, maybe that’s what I should have titled this post instead of ‘Fake it ’till you make it,’ ‘Try before you buy!’ Next time :).

-Claire 

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in decor and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

