Farmers’ Almanac

This year Santa brought me the Farmers Almanac in my stocking and I was thrilled! I’ve always wanted to pour over weather forecasts, frost dates, and ads for everything from wood stoves to worm castings on paper, and now my wish has been granted. I feel a little odd saying this, but I read it like a good piece of fiction – all in one sitting while snuggled in bed with a cup of coffee. Who knew that little book could bring me so much joy?!

I can’t say that I learned as much as I’d hoped about my region for planting this year though. I do now know my estimated frost date, average rain fall, and expected weather highs and lows (all of which will come in handy when planning my gardens), but, I’m almost certain that the filler additional information will not aid my homesteading as much as I’d like. Fashion, food, and home decor trends of 2012? Hmmm. I’m actually drawn to homesteading because it brings me in touch with my roots (pun intended) and doesn’t require me to be ‘on trend.’

So, despite loving my almanac and truly savoring it, I think I see a library run for a book specifically about Tennessee vegetable gardens in my future. I need a little more detail for 2012’s homesteading plan.

– Claire

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in homesteading, reading and writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

