It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood

It felt great to give the gifts I’d made for my daughter’s friends and teachers today! It’s hard to bake, sew, use scissors, and, well, really do anything but play and hangout, while also watching my active two-year-old. But I worked well past her bedtime, caught up on some great/crappy TV (I’ve got a soft spot for crime dramas) and finally finished everything. In retrospect, it was well worth the long nights to make instead of buy this year.

Here’s the final photos of the cookie jars (with tags made from this free customizable printable) and the Chickadee ornaments.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The cookies are a family favorite that just takes the basic Nestle chocolate chip cookie recipe from the back of the bag, uses all organic flour etc, and has a few tweaks to make them extra special.

  • Exchange 2 tablespoons of the butter for coconut oil
  • Add one cup of oatmeal
  • Add one bag of health, one bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips, and two symphony bars (instead of the one bag of chips and 1 cup of nuts called for in the original)

So, as if having an amazing craft and baking week is not enough I’m also enjoying the MOST beautiful weather here today. High 60s and sunny?! Yes please!

Now, after a cup of coffee, I’m getting out my gardening gloves and doing some yard work so I can enjoy this beautiful day.

Hope the world’s treating everyone else out there in the blogosphere right today too!

Peace-

Claire

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in crafting, food, holidays, life, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

