There’s a first time for everything…

Thanking the people who teach my little person

This is the first year I’m a mom with a kid going to “school” (ie mother’s day out), so this is the first year I’m including teachers on my holiday gift list. Since I’m new to this whole things I needed some inspiration. To get ideas for simple, ethical and homemade teacher’s gifts this year I turned (where else?!) to Pinterest.

Pinned Image

  • The teachers have mentioned more than once a love of chocolate :).

Pinned Image

  • This is a sweet bird feeder I think my daughter could help me make.

Pinned Image

  • I always love a themed cupcake!

Pinned Image

  • Coffee, nuf said. (You could of course make this a gift card to your local coffee shop)

Pinned Image

  • This combines my two loves, chocolate and office supplies, but of course doesn’t involve anything homemade or upcycling…

After all this though, what am I actually doing you ask? I’ve settled on baked goods in glass jars and little handmade chickadee ornaments (that’s the name of my daughter’s class at school, the ‘chickadees’.). So I’ve now ventured into another hand sewn project that’s got a 24 hour turn around (anyone remember the ‘activity board that I said I’d sew by machine next time. I apparently don’t learn my own lessons well.)

So this is my day…baking and sewing, sewing and baking. All day. And to be honest, I’m relishing it! (One of the times I’m thankful for my lay off :))

Here I am in the ornament process…

and here’s one completed bird…

I’ll post a tutorial (along with the owl tutorial 🙂 ) very soon. In the mean time…tomorrow doth quickly approach and I have 8 more birds to make and two dozen cookies! I’m going to get my domestic goddess hat one.

Peace and Productivity! 

Claire

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in crafting, holidays, parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to There’s a first time for everything…

  1. I’m constantly amazed by your intention and thoughtfulness! All great gift ideas and those chickadees are incredibly delightful…I look forward to the tutorial!

    Love,
    Erin

Leave a Reply

