Thanksgiving Thanks

As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them.  ~John Fitzgerald Kennedy

The past few years of my family’s life (really the lives of most people we know) have been very VERY busy/overwhelming/joyful/difficult/beautiful/challenging/transformative…I could go on and on. It seems that recent time has brought more transitions sparking more feelings, both good and bad, to me and mine than I every knew was possible. I will take a moment to list a few of my transitions here, which have happened in the past three years:

  • Got married
  • Moved twice
  • Our first child was born
  • I began and finished graduate school
  • We bought our first house
  • I began my first full-time, well paid job
  • I got laid off for the first time

I could go on, but you get the point. A lot has gone on externally and just to get by I was merely holding on internally.

After achieving some space and perspective in the past months though, I feel that transitions such as these must be examined or we’ll drown in them. It’s like standing at the edge of the ocean. We can let the waves crash into us, fighting to stand in the same place, or we can watch for their rhythm, learn about our bodies in this ever-changing sea, then adjust our stance and move with them.

This Thanksgiving, more than anything, I am grateful for my family, my garden, and my community supporting me as I examine my transitions and begin to create a new and better life for myself and my husband and child.

Family

We had the most wonderful thanksgiving visit with my family this year. My mom, dad, sister and her boyfriend drove through wind and rain to our little house in TN to celebrate one of our family’s favorite holidays. We celebrated the traditional ways by cooking for 48 hours, eating too much, drinking just enough to sing and dance to the radio, and laughing together with our rowdy toddler. With every one working so hard day-to-day, this  time together relaxing was a much needed break.

Growing

The best part about the meals we ate was our ability to include yummy food from our very own backyard garden. On turkey day morning, my sister and I took my daughter into the yard to admire our handy work and gather things for the table. Thank goodness for perfect fall weather with warm air and sunshine, which provided an over abundance of spinach, kale, and arugula. I’m STILL not done cooking all we collected. Below you can see our tiny plot that has provided so much goodness and my sister, with her ‘Kale beard.’ 🙂

Our Village

We have THE best neighborhood, THE best friends, and THE best family stepping up to care for us. This Thanksgiving weekend my husband and I got to sleep in late, take leisurely afternoon naps, and go out on a date to our favorite neighborhood restaurant all because of the support of friends and family. If it weren’t for this village, I’m not sure where we’d be. *beaming smile of love*

With my much rejuvenated spirit I will now work extra hard to give back to others the support I’ve been given. I am going forward from this Thanksgiving with the passion and drive often associated with new years resolutions to make changes for the better. I will be more present, I will be more patient, I will be more joyful, I will be more gracious, I will bring more to all I do.

Happy Thanksgiving to any of you reading out there!

-Claire

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in holidays, life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

