Halloween Follow Up

We had so much fun on Halloween with our little one!

Yes, I did finally get my kid’s costume done 🙂 Of course, I couldn’t get my act together for my husband and I to have full costumes too. So, I just went through our dress-up box to find something we already had a pair of. Surprisingly, we had two sets of bunny ears. And thus the growups’ costume was born.

On Monday night, (after we were clad in our rabbit gear) my husband and I sat on the porch with our ‘baby bat’ handing out candy in the cool fall air. Then took a walk around our block to give our girl a chance to practice saying ‘trick-or-treat!’ Which she did, both well and enthusiastically I might add 🙂 Thanks to the last minute completion of her halloween costume, she even got to show off her love of bats all night long in this simple and cute number.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It was easy peasy:

  • I put her in a black sweatshirt and black shoes with some leggings.
  • Then made her sparkly black wings by cutting a circle in a $6 hunk of cloth with a small hole in the center for her head. Then I stitched a wing pattern by hand with white thread between the sleeves and body of her sweatshirt.
  • I made simple bat ears out of the same cloth and pinned them to a black headband she already had. (More detailed instructions below.)
Hope everyone had a safe and fun Halloween too! Now I’m off to convert this bat costume into a tutu for future dress-up needs. I’d hate for sparkly fabric to go to waste!
– Claire


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

NOTE: don’t forget to turn the fabric right-side out before you stuff in the extra fabric.

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in crafting, parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Halloween Follow Up

Leave a Reply

