Fall Gardening Fun

Shorts in November

While there’s snow freezing out trick-or-treaters in some parts of the country, here in TN it’s unseasonably warm. I’ve got to say, I’m really enjoying it despite the climate change implications. It was perfect weather for porch sittin’ while passing out candy last night. And today, it was ideal for rolling up my sleeves and doing some fall gardening.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Side note 

My most recent plan for myself and my family (in light of my lay off and loving being home full-time) is to make my time at home as profitable as possible. So, I’ve been doing a lot of reading about gardening and generally moving in the direction of homesteading and self-sustainability.

Now, we live in a city with a small plot of land, so this may seem like a pipe dream. However, I was thrilled to read in several places that with ~500 square feet, I can grow enough food for a family of four for a year. And with a couple chickens, a goat, and some bees, I can get really close to growing all our food on just my 1/4 of an acre. The goat and chickens are not going to be added to my life any time soon, but veggies and bees I (and my husband 🙂 ) can get behind. 

In light of this new plan, our yard is now being designed with a long-term sustainability  plan in mind.

Getting my leaves to leave 

This week’s goal was to make good use of all the leaves in the yard. I love LOVE the falling leaves and the colorful trees, but I don’t want to kill all the grass we have  OR let a resource go to waist, so I’ve been raking my little heart out the past few weeks. Now that I’ve got a fly collection of leaves I’ve got to put them to good use.

My first use for these leaves…mulch. This is what I’ve done so far:


 

 

 

 

 

 

Next steps…

  • Spread the mulch between the rows of my established fall plants in my veggie garden to keep them healthier and suppress weeds through the growing season (cedar will also NOT be added here because it can reduce soil oxygen levels too much).
  • Fertilize my newly planted fall bulbs that will bloom in the spring then cover them lightly with my well shredded leaf mulch.
  • Build the frames for my next raised bed and compost pile and fill them with the remaining mulched leaves to prep soil and compost for next year.

If you have any homesteading advice to share, please do. I’m learning every day and appreciate everyone’s input!

– Claire

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fall Gardening Fun

  1. Sounds like a ton of work! What do you have in your fall garden? I am so impressed with your blog and with all of your projects, hon 🙂 I am looking forward to keeping up with your blog and with Erin’s blog. I have so much to learn from you girls!

    • onaclaireday says:

      I LOVE being in the yard and working with my hands, so it feels fulfilling right now instead of hard. Ask me again in February though when it’s colder 😉 Love ya’ chica!

Leave a Reply

