Yard love.

What’s growing on?!

When we bought our house a year ago it was really bringing the curb appeal, but the backyard had nothing but a privacy fence and two trees. Nothing to write home about there (or apparently take a picture of because I don’t have a single one of the backyard on my computer…hmmm.)

 

 

 

 

 

This was ideal for my husband and me though, because we hoped to build an out building for his home office and create our own garden design. The planning will probably go on for a lifetime, but here’s the beginning of our vision.

We want a little bit of this for entertaining and dining el fresco …

Pinned Image

a little bit of this for a secret garden feel,

Pinned Image

definitely some of this veggie action,

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

and of course some space for our favorite little person like this…

Pinned Image

So, with the help of my in laws, we’ve been getting out and beginning the long process of creating the yard of our dreams. This week especially, I’ve been elbow deep in soil and loving every minute of it! (After my indoor project fail I felt like the outdoors might be more forgiving. Plus, nothing makes me feel better than getting my hands dirty and sweating a bit.) I got my first fall garden in the ground, planted some trees, and nestled spring bulbs in my newest flower beds.

I’m already seeing the fruits of my labors. Check out my baby cauliflower. With the center slightly bigger than a quarter, it is just downright adorable.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Garden. love.

-Claire

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in food, homesteading. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

