Gettin’ my craft on

Stuff I’ve finished…and stuff that’s in process

So I’ve had a couple projects pending for weeks now and FINALLY I’ve gotten my act together and wrapped up a few. Here they are:

Activity board

This activity board for listing local activities (ie the craft fair) and things to do when we’re not sure what to do (ie zoo or finger paint) was inspired by this project here. I’ve made two sets of cards that match all four seasons. The fourth one will double as our advent calendar. Hand sewing the cards too longer than planned, but I like the look of them a lot, so I guess in this case it was worth it. This is a photo of the finished project before I hung it in the kitchen. (I’ll post photos of that when the whole section of wall there is done.)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Chalkboards

These have been made no less than three times and finally I think I got it right. First, I used spray chalk board paint and found it made the board so ruff it just ate all the chalk and felt too harsh for toddler hands. I thought maybe sanding it between coats would spot this…not the case. Needless to say, I took that board, made it the backing of my activity board, and then bought new boards to try chalk board paint on. This (applied with a roller) worked much MUCH better I got a smooth surface that wont eat chalk or baby hands. Once these are up on the wall in the playroom I’ll post the photos again.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fall house decor

I’m hosting Thanksgiving at our house this year, so I want all the season’s charm on display in our home. I’ve only gotten three pieces of the fall house decor completed, but I like where it’s all going…natural…soft…cozy. I’ll post projects as I move through them.

Dining room buffet decor

I have three apothecary jars that my husband grabbed for me at a discount home decor store for a song a year or two ago. They are simple, but perfect for filling with season goodies. For our St. Patrick’s Day party I filled them with limes, Andes Mints, and silver Hershey’s kisses. For Easter I filled them with yellow Easter Basket grass, pastel Easter candy, and speckled robin’s egg blue plastic eggs. This time around they’re filled with small pumpkins, pine cones, and mini dried corn on the cob.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fireplace decor

I also strung some of the pinecones on twine to create a fireplace garland. This project was inspired by this post. I would recommend NOT skipping the suggestion to bake the pinecones before decorating with them. I at first thought I’d skip this step. Who wants to take the time to bake a pinecone in the off chance that there’s something living in it? Well, apparently I do, because all it took was watching one little bug scramble out of my bag full of newly collected cones to send me sprinting for the oven. Bake 250 for 20 minutes?  Can do! And I did. This is not the last thing I’ll do to the fireplace. I like ideas like this and this…but we’ll see what the final product turns out to be.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now all I have left is to hang the completed projects. Will this take me two weeks to get to also? Let’s hope not 🙂

– Claire

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in crafting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gettin’ my craft on

  1. Pingback: the good stuff…without much ‘stuff’ | On a Claire Day

Leave a Reply

