Day 5 of unemployment…

a Pinterest obsession sets in

So. Pinterest. I didn’t know what Pinterest was until about 8 days ago, but now that I do I use it ALL the time. I’m not certain what one is ‘supposed’ to use it for, but I use it to save the photos and links to everything I find on the web that I want to find again. For me that includes:

  • craft plans
  • house decor ideas
  • recipes
  • parenting/kids games and ideas
  • fashion I would buy if I were rich
  • printables and patterns
  • basically, everything.

Life is now BP (before Pinterest) or AP (after Pinterest). BP, I crammed photos or links to files on my computer or emailed them to myself. AP, I save them to Pinterest. This is amazing. With the touch of a button I have the info filed where I can find it again AND it doesn’t cram up my technology. It’s so convenient.

However, I fear that this activity is quickly moving from convenient to obsession. Checking my blogroll and Pinterest for interesting projects I want to complete is quickly replacing my once compulsive checking of work email. Now, I fear,  it would take somewhere around two lifetimes of working around the clock to get even close to completing all the projects I’ve pined.

That being said, I’m pausing on pining (for today only, let’s not get crazy, I’m not STOPPING my Pinterest use ;)), so that I can complete a project. Task #1,  family activity calendar, is inspired by my love of organization. (I’m sure it comes as no surprise that in addition to my love of lists I also love calendars and charts.) This is an amalgam of a couple of pins on my ‘kids room’ and ‘parenting boards’. I’ll post pictures here when I’m done. And, if you’re interested, you can find me on Pinterest here.

Now, I’m off to get my craft on. Pinterest, see you on the flip side.

-Claire

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in crafting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

