Looking for a good book

The best advice I think I’ve gotten since this whole ‘pending unemployment’ thing happened, was when a colleague told me to take two weeks and just process this experience. I’ve not actually done this yet, but I’m certain its good advice.

Since I’m still working I’ve been in denial really. Each day I go in, have a cry in the parking lot, then go into my office and work like it’s just any other day. (Well, like any other day where people pop in your office and tell you they’re sorry a lot, or any other day where you teach someone else to do your job, or any other day where you make lists with things on them like, ‘1) Take family photos home. 2) Take home coffee mugs. 3) Be sure everyone has my personal email for future contact…) Denial, as they say, is not just a river in Egypt.

So, my last day at work is Thursday and I’m planning on truly taking two weeks to process this experience after that. No resumes, no job hunting, no commitments to any new jobs, no obsessing over not having a job, just process what I’ve just gone through and do some healing for myself.

It’s going to go something like this:

  • Full time caregiver for my daughter (enjoy trips to the zoo, the library, the park, you name it.)
  • During nap times do work for my husband’s business (start helping him, so we can all spend more time together as a family.)
  • In the afternoon occasionally take a yoga class or meet up with a friend.
  • In the evening, after the little one’s in bed, do whatever my heart desires (write, read, sew, paint, build furniture, sleep, whatever I darn well please.)

With that in mind, I need to do a couple things so I can actually DO what I want to. For example, I want to do some fun reading, but I need something fun to read. I’ve been enjoying some cookbooks lately including Tender, Around my French Table, In the Kitchen with a Good Appetite, and Super Natural Everyday, but now I’m ready for some fiction. I’m not talking my typical emotional and heavy fiction (let’s just say I went through a dark phase with books like The Namesake, Kite Runner, A Thousand Splendid Suns, and The Space Between Us) I want something that makes me laugh and warms my heart. I’m on the hunt. I’ll be sure to post what I find. If you have anything you loved, let me know!

-Claire

About onaclaireday

I am a wife, a mother, a social worker, a writer, a crafter, and a seeker who is trying to blend all of my passions into one balanced life. Usually my path feels cloudy, but occasionally, on a clear day, 'getting it right' feels so close I can smell it. Here I'll write about that journey sharing about whatever strikes my fancy from good books I'm reading to interior design. Thanks for reading and sharing your journey too. - Claire
This entry was posted in reading and writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

